Barcelona forward, Lionel Messi has won the Men’s Ballon D’Or for the sixth time.

The Argentine was nominated alongside Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk and Juve’s Cristiano Ronaldo among others.

Messi was involved in 63 goals for the past 12 months with 46 goals and 27 assists which he struck to help Barcelona retain the La Liga title.

“I would like to thank all of the journalists who voted for me and wanted me to have this prize,” Messi said after receiving the award which held in Paris on Monday night alongside his wife and two sons.

“Thank you so much to my colleagues who have actually contributed a lot to this prize. It is amazing, thank you so much.”

Virgil Van Dijk came second, while long time rival, Cristiano Ronaldo came third with Liverpool forward Sadio Mane following close behind in fourth.

Van Dijk

2018 winner Luka Modric presented the gong to Messi who has also won the award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

“It was an amazing year, but there’s a couple of players like that who are a bit unnatural,” said Van Dijk.

“So you need to respect greatness as well. I was close, but there was just someone a little bit better. I’m very proud of what I achieved last year with Liverpool and the Netherlands, and hopefully we can do that again this year. But that will be tough with those guys around here still.”

Meanwhile, Liverpool’s Allison Becker won the inaugural Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper, ahead of Barca’s Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Manchester City No 1 Ederson.


Netherlands international, Matthijs de Ligt also won the Kopa Trophy for the best U21 player of the past year ahead of Borussia Dortmund’s England forward Jadon Sancho after helping his former club Ajax win last season’s Eredivisie title as well as Champions League semi-final.

Matthijs de Ligt

Below are 2019 Ballon D’Or top ten:

Lionel Messi
Virgil van Dijk
Cristiano Ronaldo
Sadio Mane
Mohamed Salah
Kylian Mbappe
Robert Lewandowski
Bernardo Silva
Riyad Mahrez