The final African Footballer of the Year shortlist is out and Nigeria’s Odion Ighalo is out while Egypt’s Mohamed Salah, Senegal’s Sadio Mané and Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez made the list.

The list was released yesterday by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) yesterday in Cairo, Egypt.

Former Super Eagles captain, John Mikel Obi, remains the last Nigerian player to make the final shortlist in 2013 which Ivory Coast’s Yaya Touré won at the event held at Eko Hotels Lagos, Nigeria.

Salah and Mané helped Liverpool win the Club World Cup in Doha, Qatar at the weekend while Mahrez captained Algeria to win 2019 African Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Salah is in contention to win the prestigious award for the third time but Mané is reportedly claimed to be this year’s favorite.

Meanwhile, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala made the final shortlist for Women Player of the Year alongside Ajara Nchout of Cameroon and South Africa’s Beijing Phoenix FC star Thembi Kgatlana.

Final voting for the men and women’s Player of the Year, as well as the male and female Coach of the Year, will be made by head coaches/technical directors and captains of senior national teams from CAF member associations.

Winners will be announced during the award ceremony which will hold on 7 January in the Egyptian resort of Hurghada.

See full list below:

Men’s Player of the Year:

Mohamed Salah (Egypt-Liverpool)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria-Man City)

Sadio Mane (Senegal-Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year:

Ajara Nchout (Cameroon-Valerenga)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria-Barcelona)

Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa-Beijing Phoenix FC)

African Interclubs Player of the Year:

Anice Badri (Tunisia-Esperance)

Tarek Hamed (Egypt-Zamalek)

Youcef Belaïli (Algeria-Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year:

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco-Dortmund)

Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria-Villarreal)

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria-Lille)

African Men’s Coach of the Year:

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)

Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance)

African Women’s Coach of the Year:

Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

African Men’s National Team of the Year:




African Women’s National Team of the Year:



South Africa